Inspiration · Personal Development

Focus on STRENGTHS, forget about weaknesses

strengths-inline-sized

I find this statement of infinite value. We must stop thinking about what we don’t do well and focus on what we are good at. Our talents empower us– they make it possible to move to higher levels of excellence and fulfill our potential. The good news? Everyone has natural talents that can be converted to strengths.

Many times in my life, I’ve thought: “I’m bad at socializing with people I don’t know what can I do to become good at it?” At that moment, I was focusing on my weaknesses to try to convert them into strengths. Instead, my question should have had sounded  something like: “What things do I know how to do well that I can become the best at?”

Once we understand why we should focus on our strengths instead of our weaknesses, the next step is identifying which ones they are. In my case, I kind of had an idea what my talents could be, but I doubted if those were my real ones. By recommendation, I took the Gallup Strengths Quest, an online test that has been assessing talents and strengths for years. It took me about 30 minutes and cost me 9.99USD, but it was one of the best investments I’ve ever made. I not only confirmed some of the talents I thought I had, but I discovered new ones that now are empowering my actions.
I highly recommend you take the quest and start putting in practice this concept as soon as possible. Focus on your strengths and forget about your weaknesses! There are many authors that talk about this, one of my last discoveries being: The Adventures of Johnny Bunko. A fun comic– very quick to read with good career lessons. Go out there and start shining!

Leave a Reply

