Public Relations · Storytelling

4 essential readings for PR beginners

Essential readings PR

Today I want to share with you my personal list of Public Relations books. In my opinion, these are 4 books that anyone interested in PR should start reading. It’s true that there are other essential books I didn’t mention like Crystallizing Public Opinion by Edward L. Bernays or Confessions of an Advertising Man by David Ogilvy. If I were in your shoes, I would start with these 4 to get a clear idea of what working in Public Relation entails.

how to win friends and influence people

  1. How to win friends and influence people – Dale Carnegie

In my eyes, this is my absolute, hands-down number one. It’s the definitive book to understand the importance of dealing with people in business. It’s about focusing on others before focusing on yourself or your business. Paying attention to others and showing them real appreciation for their work will in turn make you a successful person. According to Carnegie, no one will care about your business if you don’t care about them first.

  1. Effective Public Relations –  Scott M. Cutlip, Allen H. Center, Glen M. Broom

This book has been called “The bible of Public Relations”. It’s a very complete book about theory, concepts, principles, management and practices. This is a useful resource for those who are being introduced to Public Relations and it updates every 5 years with new cases and perspectives.

The Art of Perception

  1. The Art of Perception – Robert Leaf

This reading is about war stories about PR from a man that led the PR industry for approximately 50 years. All his stories are still valid today and teach us something new about the field. What’s better than learning from the best professionals and their experiences?

Rogue Elephants: One PR Girl's Fight Through the Human Jungle

  1. Rogue Elephants –  Jane Hunt

This book will surprise you for its author’s warmth. It explains stories about how an experienced PR practitioner successfully deals with all kind of cases. It makes you realize that Public Relations are needed in situations that you wouldn’t have thought before.
Have you already read any of them? What are your thoughts about it? Share them with me!

3 thoughts on “4 essential readings for PR beginners

  1. Thanks for the suggestions, I was looking for some great PR reads and will definitely look these up!
    One of the books I recently read which I thought was incredibly useful for PR and Comms people is ‘The media training bible’ by Brad Phillips. Some great tips on how to engage with media and how to protect yourself and your organisation.

    Like

    1. Hi Rachel! Thank you for your comment. Yes, I’ve heard about this book but I haven’t read it yet. So, thank you for your suggestion, I will definitely check it out! Let me know if you end up reading any of the books in my list 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

